Service: Above & Beyond

The skilled members of De Pere Police Department and De Pere Fire Rescue are committed to the safety and well-being of those in our community. Their tireless and selfless work is done without a desire for recognition.

However, the "Beyond the Call” and “Outstanding Firefighter" wards are in place as a way to acknowledge the extraordinary service by individuals of these departments each year. Winners are honored by the De Pere Civic Clubs.

How to nominate police and/or fire rescue personal

Citizens of De Pere, have you noticed one of our Police Officers or Rescue/Fire Fighters doing an exemplary job. Here is your chance to acknowledge him or her for their outstanding work. Nominate an officer for a single incident, unique job, or long-term commitment to the De Pere Community Some considerations include one or more of these actions:

  • A single act of exceptional courage responsible for saving a life
  • Meritorious service for an assignment of great responsibility
  • Outstanding response to an unusual situation beyond normal duties
  • Unique job responsibility
  • Outstanding interaction with the citizens and community of De Pere
  • Long-term commitment to the citizens of De Pere
  • Or, some other action considered worthy of recognition by the nominator.

Fill out a nomination form and submit it by the end of the year to either the De Pere Fire Chief, 400 Lewis Street, or the De Pere Police Chief at 325 South Broadway Street.  For Forms or more information contact Lee Meyers, (920) 676-9919.

De Pere Fire Rescue Nomination Form

De Pere Police Nomination Form

Past Award-Winners

Past recipients of the "Beyond the Call" award from
De Pere Police Department include: 

Past recipients of "Outstanding Firefighter" awards from De Pere Fire Rescue include: 
  • 2015: Joseph Johnson
  • 2016: Melissa A Vande Wettering
  • 2017: Kevin DuBois
  • 2018: Nathan Mrstik
  • 2019: Anthony Phelps
  • 2015: Edmund Balcer
  • 2016: Ben Hermans, Tom Nelson, Daniel Lotter
  • 2017: Edmund Balcer, Shaun Corroy, Ronald Cody
  • 2018: Todd Hendricks, Daniel Lotter, Daniel Hermans
  • 2019: Thomas Hendricks, William Tews