
Do not install where there are extreme •	
temperatures, excess humidity or heavy dust 
such as in bathrooms, unheated garages or attics.

It is recommended that tamper-resistant smoke 
alarms or smoke alarms wired to the building 
electrical system be installed if there is a problem 
with battery disconnection.

In older manufactured homes, mount smoke 
alarms only on interior walls and not on ceilings or 
exterior walls.

What maintenance is required?
Smoke alarms cannot save lives if they are not 
working!

Change batteries at least once a year, or more •	
often, if the low-battery warning activates. A 
good idea is to choose the same day or week 
each year to replace batteries. Mark the battery 

with the installation date. (There are smoke 
alarms with 10-year batteries available.)
Change photo-electric bulbs when trouble •	
indicators activate.
Test the alarm monthly by using the test button, •	
or as required by the manufacturer. If the alarm 
doesn’t work, replace any battery. If it still 
doesn’t work, replace the smoke alarm. 
Open the cover and vacuum the unit regularly.•	
Replace older smoke alarms – typically after 10 •	
years – as recommended by manufacturer.

If the smoke alarm instructions are unavailable, 
there is some basic information, including the 
manufacturer’s identification address, on the 
smoke alarm itself.

Renters must inform landlords in writing of smoke 
alarm problems, such as a dead battery. The 
landlord has 5 days to correct the problem.

Do you have an escape plan?
Although functional smoke alarms usually give an 
early warning, it is important to have an adequate 
escape plan:
Look for sources of fires on your property and •	
eliminate or reduce them.
Have at least two ways to escape a fire and an •	
outside meeting location for everyone in the 
household.
Call the fire department after you’re outside.•	

Check smoke alarms today!
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The Division of Safety and Buildings does not discriminate 
on the basis of disability in the provision of services or in 
employment. If you need this brochure interpreted or in a 
different form or if you need assistance, please contact us: 
Wisconsin TDD System dial 711.

Summary of Smoke Alarm Requirements

Type of living or sleeping occupancy 
and date of building permit or construction 

Battery-powered 
only

Building electrical 
system powered

Building power 
and battery backup

Interconnection between 
smoke alarms within LU

Strobe light alarms 
in common areas

Smoke alarm 
on every floor level 

Smoke alarms outside 
each sleeping area

Smoke alarms 
in each bedroom

One- and 2-family dwellings before 4-1-92 X X
UDC after 4-1-92 X X X
UDC after 12-1-95 X X X X
UDC after 4-1-01 X X X X X
All WCBC before 1-1-82 X X X
All WCBC after 1-1-82 X X X
All WCBC after 1-12-93 X X X X
WCBC apartment-type after 4-1-95 X X X X
All WCBC after 3-1-99 X X X X
WCBC hotel/motel type after 4-1-00 X X X X X
WCBC hotel/motel after 7-1-02 X X X X X X
WCBC apartment-type after 7-1-02 X X X X X X

Smoke Alarms 
in Wisconsin
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LU means living unit. •	
UDC is the Uniform Dwelling Code and applies to one- and 2-family dwellings and modular homes.•	
WCBC is the Wisconsin Commercial Building Code and applies to apartments, rowhouses and condominiums.•	



Wisconsin law requires owner-occupied 
homes, rental homes and other residential 

buildings to be protected by smoke alarms or a 
smoke detection system. Owners must install and 
maintain them, and tenants must inform the owner 
of any smoke alarm problems.

The requirements differ between those for one- 
and 2-family dwellings and those for multi-unit 
housing, which includes hotels and motels and 
apartment buildings. The requirements also differ 
for buildings depending on the date a building 
permit or state plan approval was applied for. In 
addition, there may be local or special occupancy 
requirements, such as for community-based 
residential facilities (CBRFs), hospitals and 
nursing homes. For more details, consult the 
applicable statutes (Ch. 101) and codes (Comm 21, 
28, 61 to 65) and your local building inspection or 
fire department.

Why are smoke alarms necessary?
People in Wisconsin die because of not being 
warned of fires that they cannot see. Working 
smoke alarms have been shown to reduce by half 
the risk of death by fire.

Most fire deaths are caused by smoke inhalation, 
not by burns. Hundreds of Wisconsinites are 
seriously and painfully injured each year. Also, 
smoke alarms protect property by providing early 
warning for the need to call help.

What kind of smoke alarms are required?
(See summary table on back.)

All smoke alarms used in Wisconsin must 
be Underwriters Laboratories (UL) listed, or 
equivalent, and must be either of the ionization 
or photo-electric types. (Heat detectors, which 
respond slower, may only be used in addition 
to smoke alarms.) In common areas of multi-
unit housing, a smoke detection system shall be 
installed per NFPA 72.

For multi-unit housing built before January 1, 
1982, and for one- and 2-family dwellings built 
before April 1, 1992, the smoke alarms may be 
self-contained and battery-operated. After the 
above dates, additional features may be required. 
(See table on back.) 

Although not always required, the following are 
recommended: 

Interconnect all of a living unit’s smoke alarms •	
and have them powered by both a building 
circuit and batteries to ensure audible operation 
in all situations.
Connect building-powered smoke alarms onto •	
regular lighting circuits, ahead of any switch, 
so the loss of power to the alarm is likely to be 
noticed because the lights don’t work.
Include strobe lights with alarms for the hearing-•	
impaired. (Besides those required in common-
use areas, strobes may be required in some 
individual living units.)

In multi-unit housing, smoke alarms in living units 
may not require interconnection with the rest of the 
building’s alarms, even though the common area 
smoke alarms need to be interconnected. This is to 
minimize potential false alarm problems.

Locate a smoke alarm outside each sleeping area •	
and inside each bedroom, and keep the bedroom 
doors closed for additional protection.

How should smoke alarms be installed?
Install smoke alarms according to manufacturers’ 
instructions. Typical requirements include:

Mount on the bottom of any exposed basement •	
ceiling joists.
Place at least 4 inches from the wall when •	
installing on the ceiling. The center of the room 
is best. (See illustration below.)
Place between 4 to 12 inches from the ceiling •	
when installing on a wall. Be sure it is out of the 
dead air space where the ceiling and wall meet. 
(See illustration below.)
Install within 3 feet of the highest part of a •	
peaked or sloped ceiling.
Place at least 3 feet away from any window, door •	
or air register where drafts could prevent smoke 
from reaching the alarm.
Mount away from kitchens where cooking could •	
cause false alarms and subsequent disconnection.
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Where must smoke alarms be installed?
For one- and 2-family dwellings built before 
December 1, 1994, owners must install at least 
one smoke alarm on each floor level of each unit, 
including the basement. 

For multi-unit housing built before April 1, 2000, 
the owner must install at least one smoke alarm in 
the following locations:

In the basement.•	
At the head of stairs at each floor level. (If the •	
stairs are enclosed, then place the smoke alarm 
in front of the door leading to the stairs.)
Either in each sleeping room or elsewhere in the •	
unit within 6 feet of each sleeping area, provided 
the location is not in a kitchen.

After the above dates, additional locations may be 
required. (See table on back.)

Although not always required, the following are 
recommended:

Place smoke alarms between each sleeping •	
area and the rest of the dwelling, and above the 
base of any stairs on other floor levels within a 
dwelling.
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One and 2-Family Dwellings
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Multi-Unit Housing

(Floor plans) 
Note: At least one alarm is 
required in the basement.

* Minimum Smoke Alarm Placement
See table on back for more requirements.


